The Pompey Chimes

The Pompey Chimes. Portsmouth Football Club Fans. Play up Pompey!

Jack Whatmough - Portsmouth FC Season 2013 - 2014

Whatmough offers hope amid the gloom
by Neil Allen of the News
October 1, 2013

It was a day of despair for Pompey fans following the York debacle.

Yet on the substitutes’ bench there was an encouraging glimpse of the future in the form of Jack Whatmough.

At the age of 17 years, one month and 10 days, the defender was named in a Blues league squad for the first time.

Yet another indication of the high regard the youngster from Gosport is held in at the club.

In August, upon Whatmough’s 17th birthday, he was awarded with a three-year deal by Pompey following his emergence through the ranks.

Now he has entered the first-team environment and Guy Whittingham believes it is fully deserved.

‘Shaun Cooper’s groin wasn’t good enough (for York),’ said Whittingham.

‘You give consideration whether you bring Adam Webster back – but it wouldn’t be fair on him because he is getting plenty of games on loan at Aldershot. So Jack was the right one to come with us.

‘He has been playing well in the Academy and development games so earned the chance to come up.

‘You’ve got Adam who is really the next in line (to the senior defenders).

‘If you had somebody out for a while then you would probably look at bringing him back, but then Jack is certainly up there and has done well.

‘Saturday was the first time he has really been around the first-team squad and he coped fine.

‘He has trained with us a lot more recently as well so it’s not as if we are bringing a stranger into the camp, he has been involved with us.’

Whatmough’s only other previous involvement with the first-team was in the Capital One Cup in August 2012.

He was one of 12 teenagers in Michael Appleton’s squad for the trip to Plymouth, with the Blues unable to sign players at the time.

Whatmough was among three named substitutes, alongside Jack Maloney and Bradley Tarbuck, but was the only one not to feature.

With Joe Devera (hamstring) and Cooper missing for last weekend’s trip to York, Whatmough was the only central-defensive cover on the bench.

Meanwhile, Webster has made 12 appearances during his loan spell at the Shot

Members Area

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Latest Match Reports

League 2 Season 2013-2014

Saturday December 14, 2013
Pompey 0 Newport County 2 (HT 0-0)

Wednesday December 4, 2013
Pompey 2 Wycombe Wanderers 2 (HT 0-1)

Saturday November 30, 2013
Hartlepool United 0 Pompey 0 (HT 0-0)

Tuesday November 26, 2013
Pompey 1 Southend 2 (HT 1-0)

Saturday November 23, 2013
Pompey 1 Scunthorpe United 2 (HT 1-1)

Saturday November 16, 2013
AFC Wimbledon 4 Pompey 0 (HT 1-0)

Tuesday November 12, 2013
Newport County 3 Pompey 0 (HT 2-0)
Johnstone's Paint Trophy (3rd Round)

Saturday November 9, 2013
Stevenage 2 Pompey 1 (HT 2-0)
FA Cup Round 1

Saturday November 2, 2013
Pompey 3 Exeter City 2 (HT 1-0)

Saturday October 26, 2013
Torquay United 1 Pompey 1 (HT 1-0)

Saturday October 19, 2013
Pompey 1 Bury 0 (HT 1-0)

Saturday October 12, 2013
Plymouth Argyle 1 Pompey 1 (HT 0-0)

Tuesday Oct 8, 2013
Oxford United 1 Pompey 2 (JPT) (HT 0-0)

Saturday, Oct 5, 2013
Pompey 3 Rochdale 0 (HT 1-0)

Saturday, Sep 28, 2013
York City 4 Pompey 2 (HT 1-0)

Saturday, Sep 21, 2013
Pompey 0 Fleetwood Town 1 (HT 0-0)

Saturday, Sep 14, 2013
Burton Albion 1 Pompey 2 (HT 0-1)

Saturday, Sep 7, 2013
Cheltenham Town 2 Pompey 2 (HT 1-2)

Tuesday, Sep 3, 2013
JP Trophy Round 1
Torquay United 0 Pompey 0 (HT 0-0)
(Pompey win 5-3 on penalties)

Saturday, Aug 31, 2013
Pompey 0 Chesterfield 2 (HT 0-0)

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013
Mansfield Town 2 Pompey 2 (HT 1-2)

Saturday, Aug 17, 2013
Pompey 3 Morecambe 0 (HT 3-0)

Saturday, Aug 10, 2013
Accrington Stanley 2 Pompey 2  (HT 0-0)

Tuesday, Aug 6, 2013
Bournemouth 1 Pompey 0  (HT 0-0)

Saturday, Aug 3, 2013
Pompey 1 Oxford United 4  (HT 1-2)

Pompey memories

Have a memory to share? Please record it in the Pompeychimes memories Forum or Pompeychimes Blog

Transfer Talk

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013
Wednesday, Nov 6, 2013
Friday, Oct 4 at 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, Oct 3 All Day
Thursday, Oct 3

Recent Blog Entries

Recent Forum Posts

Newest Members

Recent Photos

Videos

1236 views - 0 comments

Affiliates

First4Fashion.comFashion - Designers, Models

FTSEmarkets.comFTSE Markets - Stock Markets

Paradise LoveParadise Love, Romance

Beautyit.comHealth and Beauty Tips

Paradise DaysParadise Days

Sensual HairSensual Hair Styling

Pompey ChimesThe Pompey Chimes

Sensolve SolutionsIT & Internet solutions

Selme.comBargain Domain Names

Submit ExpressSEO Services & Tools

ASR Search Engine

Free xml sitemap generator

DOMAINS FOR SALE

accountants-solutions.com
adventure-sports.biz
apartment-rentals.info
assuredsavings.com
beautyit.com
capitalsave.com
clickforaloan.co.uk
cruisesto.com
dowmarkets.com
ekisses.co.uk
elooker.co.uk
elookers.co.uk
elovers.co.uk
first4fashion.com
first4finance.net
first4golf.com
first4hair.com
first4loans.info
first4racing.com
first4results.com
first4romance.com
first4tickets.com
first4travel.com
first4vision.com
FTSEmarkets.com
hairfantastic.com
honeymoonit.com
hp-it.com
immaculately.com
insiderbets.com
interiors-designers.com
interiors-designs.com
justfantastic.co.uk
lovebodies.com
lovetogether.co.uk
lovingdays.co.uk
lovingdreams.com
lovingkiss.co.uk
niccie.com
paradisedays.co.uk
paradiselove.co.uk
property-for-sale.biz
selme.co.uk
selme.com
sensolve.co.uk
sensolve.com
sensuale.co.uk
sensualdays.co.uk
sensualeyes.co.uk
sensualhair.co.uk
sexuale.co.uk
simplybanking.com
simplydesirable.com
simplymarkets.com
slimmingly.com
somegirlswill.com
sunsuality.com
supermodelling.com
twohearts.co.uk
wizzads.com
world-markets.info